Five medal Okaro sweeps up at South East Regional Championships

The Swim England South East Regional Championships continued with the 14 and under age group over two weekends, starting on the 11th and 12th of May and concluding on the 25th and 26th of May.

A packed K2 Leisure Centre in Crawley hosted the younger swimmers with a tremendous 29 swimmers qualifying for this event. A great achievement and a wonderful experience for some who qualified for the first time.

Some strong swims and personal bests saw Sevenoaks represented in 12 finals over the course of both weekends.

Alyze Gentles secured a well deserved bronze medal in the 200m Individual Medley, 11/12 age group.

The first medal went to Alyze Gentles in the 200m Individual Medley, 11/12 age group. A superb swim from Alyze and a well-deserved bronze medal. Next up saw the Okaro sisters up against each other in the 13 years age group. A fantastic battle saw Eva win bronze and Izabella coming in 7th position.

Always a tough event, the 200m Fly, saw a tremendous effort from Elspeth Watson to win silver in the 14 years age group. The medals kept on coming courtesy of Eva Okaro winning bronze in the 50m Breaststroke and gold in the 50m Fly, the 100m Fly and the 100m Freestyle, 13 years age group. Well done Eva!

There was some tough competition from the male swimmers in the South East Region too, however Demi Alli had a memorable day, battling to win silver in the 50m Freestyle and bronze in the 50m Breaststroke in the 11/12 age group.

Elspeth Watson with her silver medal in the 200m Fly, 14 years age group.

Altogether it was a successful Championships from the young swimmers, demonstrating that hard work and determination pays off. Congratulations also goes to all of the coaches.

Demi Alli had a memorable day, winning silver in the 50m Freestyle in the 11/12 age group.

Finalists: Eva Okaro, Elspeth Watson, Demi Alli, Kara Dimond, Jaedon Lynch, Martha Roberts, Imogen Stoddart, Isla Murphy, Noah Enticknap, Izabella Okaro & Millie Armstrong.

Qualifiers: Abigail Saunders, Albert Whitlock, Alyze Gentles, Amelia Tovey, Benjamin Watson, Caiden Hibbert, Daisy McMillan, Demi Alli, Ella Wood, Elspeth Watson, Emily Brown, Eva Okaro, Fern  Gray, Holli Gushlow, Imogen Stoddart, Izabella Okaro, Jaedon Lynch, Joseph Box, Kara Dimond, Martha Roberts, Millie Armstrong, Noah Enticknap, Sam Martin-Young, Samriddhi Das, Seamus Hamilton, Thiago Gentles, Thomas Creasey, William Jarrett, Zachary Howard.